There has been news that Lidl croissants are not vegetarian and include lard which is extracted from pigs.
This also means that it is haram. People started stopped buying Lidl croissants. However, there is no statement from Lidl about the news.
Is this correct that Lidl croissants are not vegetarian?
Similar rumour also spread back in 2018, claiming that Lidl croissants were haram. Not sure about this time.
On one side it is affecting all those who are vegetarian, and they started boycotting the product, while on the side, Muslims also started abandoning Lidle croissants due to the fact that it uses pork.
Not sure why Lidl is slow in response. Other stores are usually quite fast in neutralising such rumours quickly.
It has been circulating through messages apps- WhatsApp. The message was saying that Lidle croissants product is actually made with lard, meaning it wouldn’t be suitable for vegetarians.
Below is the reply from Lidl.
Re: Butter Croissant – 121278
Thank you for your enquiry.
We would like to inform you that this product is suitable for vegetarians and does not contain lard as an ingredient.
If you require further information about our bakery items, please let us know in reply to this email and we will be glad to assist.
We hope that this information has been of assistance and thank you for getting in touch with us.
For and on behalf of Lidl Great Britain Limited
Quality Assurance Team”